How do I configure server messages?

Post Reply
Cronyx
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 10:10 pm

How do I configure server messages?

Post by Cronyx » Thu Oct 23, 2014 10:19 pm

Or rather, what is the "say" command?

Essentially I want to create scheduled tasks in my Space Engineered server that warn of a reboot. I've already got reboots scheduled, but I want to create three more scheduled actions at 10 minutes, 5 minutes, and 1 minutes before reboot that say "Warning reboot incoming" or something along those lines. I also want to create a scheduled task that repeats every 20 minutes that gives a url to the server info page. I see that I can send a custom command, but I just don't know what the command is to have the server say something in chat. Thanks!

Blackhawkz788
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 12:08 am

Re: How do I configure server messages?

Post by Blackhawkz788 » Thu Jan 08, 2015 2:01 am

Can this post get a reply please? I am having the same issue

chadud
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 11:58 pm

Re: How do I configure server messages?

Post by chadud » Thu Jan 08, 2015 8:44 pm

I have the same issue, also when i restart my server that way it stays off...

Ragonz
Site Admin
Posts: 667
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 11:16 pm

Re: How do I configure server messages?

Post by Ragonz » Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:38 pm

There is no way of doing this in the base game.
You would need to install SEServerExtender from the game panel then use a mod for SESE (like this one http://www.powersofwar.com/?q=content/d ... ender-sese) to both restart the server and display a message beforehand.

Please be warned though that mods from the steam workshop DO NOT currently work if SESE is enabled. The developers of the 3rd party mod are looking at it but as of yet there is no ETA
Grab a game server from us by clicking the picture below
Image
Got an issue? Submit a Support Ticket

joemorin73
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 7:21 pm

Re: How do I configure server messages?

Post by joemorin73 » Wed Jan 21, 2015 3:15 pm

I have a Server Message on my server.

It is true. Without SESE, you can not easily set a server message. What you can do, as I did, is create a mod that will display a server message. It's not a complex code and it does get the job done.

tacticalbacon
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 2:32 am

Re: How do I configure server messages?

Post by tacticalbacon » Wed Jun 07, 2017 4:15 pm

@ joemorin73 can you show us what u did to create this mod or can you put it on steam for all of us to be able to use

Post Reply

Return to “Space Engineers”