New with a couple of questions

DeWaldo

New with a couple of questions

Post by DeWaldo » Thu Aug 14, 2014 12:50 pm

Hi guys,

I'm new to being a server admin. I've been hosting with Pingperfect for about a month now, originally running a public server with a custom world.

With a never-ending assault from griefers I've decided to take the server Private as per the instructions here - http://pingperfect.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f=64&t=532 (which worked perfectly thank you) and add Endless Cargoship Mod and increase the inventory size through the Configuration File. The Mod appeared but the inventory size appears to be unchanged.

When making the server private I used the Save & Backup World function in the control panel and restarted the server to allow the changes to take effect. When the server restarted I hit the Restore World button and selected the only option, expecting to spawn into the same world with our progress saved. Sigh* - unfortunately not. The custom map was the same, same custom asteroids and starter ship but we had lost all our progress.

My concern now is I obviously dont' know what I'm doing...I'm unsure how to properly save progress and stop/start/restart the server.

How do I change options like welding/grinding speed and inventory size and what do I need to do in order for these changes to take effect on the server? Sorry, I'm sure these questions are fairly simple for someone with a bit of Server experience to answer, but I haven't gotten that far yet.

Also if you could explain the advantages of SEServerExtender, I'd greatly appreciate it...

Thanks

Ragonz
Site Admin

Re: New with a couple of questions

Post by Ragonz » Thu Aug 14, 2014 3:08 pm

Hi DeWaldo