How to change settings on an existing world

Post Reply
Ragonz
Site Admin
Posts: 669
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 11:16 pm

How to change settings on an existing world

Post by Ragonz » Fri Aug 01, 2014 9:13 pm

1. log into your game panel
2. go to game services > select your server
3. go to File Manager then navigate to Saves > your currently selected persistent world (folder)
4. find sandbox.sbc and click the pencil (edit) button
5. find <Settings>
6. edit required settings then save file
7. restart server for new settings to take effect
Grab a game server from us by clicking the picture below
Image
Got an issue? Submit a Support Ticket

Chexss
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2014 6:49 am

Re: How to manually edit your sandbox.sbc file

Post by Chexss » Sun Aug 10, 2014 1:57 pm

I was informed that this is how you modify your world? However when I went there it was a bunch of coding..is this more of an advanced way to modify your world? I know about going to the configuration files. What kind of edits can be done through the sandbox.sbc file?

Ragonz
Site Admin
Posts: 669
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 11:16 pm

Re: How to manually edit your sandbox.sbc file

Post by Ragonz » Sun Aug 10, 2014 6:48 pm

Hi Chexss

With Space engineers there are 2 different config files, the main config (Available in the game panel) and the world config (the sandbox.sbc file) The main config is mostly used to generate a new world where as the sandbox.sbc config is used to edit the settings of an existing world.
Grab a game server from us by clicking the picture below
Image
Got an issue? Submit a Support Ticket

Ubik!
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 1:10 pm

Re: How to change settings on an existing world

Post by Ubik! » Wed Dec 21, 2016 1:16 pm

Hi i'm using the SESE Essentials mod, where do I set the save frequency of my server ?

At the moment it's saving every 5 mins and I wish to extend this to at least every 15mins.

I see this option <AutoSaveInMinutes>0</AutoSaveInMinutes> in the sandbox.sbc is this where it needs to be changed ? At the moment anything I change in this file gets reset back to its default setting every time my server is restarted.

would appreciate any help with this.

Thank you

Ragonz
Site Admin
Posts: 669
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 11:16 pm

Re: How to change settings on an existing world

Post by Ragonz » Wed Dec 21, 2016 3:12 pm

when using sese it will always overwrite anything in the sandbox.sbc file so it has to be set within the main config and the seserverextender.bat config files
Grab a game server from us by clicking the picture below
Image
Got an issue? Submit a Support Ticket

Ubik!
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 1:10 pm

Re: How to change settings on an existing world

Post by Ubik! » Wed Dec 21, 2016 3:20 pm

Thank you Ragonz is this what you mean by the main config file SpaceEngineers-Dedicated.cfg where is the seserverextender.bat file located, I see that you can set the time option in the control panel when you click it.
I want to change the Viewdistance also, how do I do that now I can't edit the sandbox.sbc ?

Ragonz
Site Admin
Posts: 669
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 11:16 pm

Re: How to change settings on an existing world

Post by Ragonz » Wed Dec 21, 2016 5:32 pm

view distance is in the main config (SpaceEngineers-Dedicated.cfg)
Grab a game server from us by clicking the picture below
Image
Got an issue? Submit a Support Ticket

Scotsmar
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2018 8:03 am

Re: How to change settings on an existing world

Post by Scotsmar » Sun Jul 01, 2018 8:08 am

How do I add asteroids via procedural density? It does not work.

Ragonz
Site Admin
Posts: 669
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 11:16 pm

Re: How to change settings on an existing world

Post by Ragonz » Sun Jul 01, 2018 10:15 am

I'm not sure you can when a world has already been generated. Always submit a support ticket for help with your server though
Grab a game server from us by clicking the picture below
Image
Got an issue? Submit a Support Ticket

Post Reply

Return to “Space Engineers”